Meet The Orchestra

Music Director and Conductor Long Island Symphony Orchestra Dr. Eric R. Stewart

Music Director and Conductor

Dr. Eric R. Stewart

Dr. Eric R. Stewart currently serves as the music director of the Long Island Symphonic Choral Association, and formerly an adjunct professor at the John C. Cali School of Music at Montclair State University. He has conducted at such venues as Carnegie Hall (Zankel Hall) and the Four Seasons Centre of the Canadian Opera Company (Bradshaw Amphitheatre), and has been broadcast by the Canadian Broadcasting Company (CBC). Eric served as the assistant conductor of the Argento Ensemble, the gamUT Contemporary Ensemble, and as cover conductor of the the Harbor Opera Company, the Peabody Renaissance Ensemble/Baltimore Baroque Band, and the 92Y Orchestra.

As a composer, Eric’s music has been performed throughout North America, Europe, and Asia. He was a finalist for the Antonin Dvorak International Composition Award and the ASCAP Morton Gould Award. He has received scholarships from the Aspen Music Festival, the Peabody Conservatory- where he earned his BM and MM in composition, and the University of Toronto – where he earned his DMA in composition. His teachers included Michael Hersch, Chris Theofanidis, and Sam Adler.

Maurice Barbash J.S. Bach Competition. Photos of the Island Symphony Orchestra and Rachell Ellen Wong, Violinist. Photography by id Unleashed.

Meet The Orchestra

2021-2022 Board of Directors

Dr. Eric R. Stewart
Music Director and Conductor

Darlene Abbate-Struss

Susan Barbash
Vice-President, Promotional Materials

Lisa Brieff
Recording Secretary and Grantwriter

Lynne Bowden

Nancy Maia
Symphony Librarian and Archivist

Kevin DeLargy
Stage, Lobby, Instrument Inventory Management

Maricela McGrath
Corresponding Secretary

Mark Flanzraich
Technical Director & Stage Manager

Lora Kuykendall
Personnel Manager

Get Involved

Long Island Musicians. Join Us!

Play Video

We believe that our
works can contribute
to a better world.

Join Us

Join The Orchestra

Join the Island Symphony, a true community orchestra! We are always seeking new players to join our all-volunteer orchestra. Please fill out the form below to join ISO.

    Get in touch

    Email us

    For project inquiries only:

    Join Us

    Contact us to learn more about joining the ISO

    We use cookies to give you the best experience.